How to Make Tie-Dye Cake!

8 May

Today was one of those stay at home days…had a beautiful thunderstorm raging outside, so I decided to grab my husband and force him to bake with me 🙂  When I told him I wanted to make a tie-dye cake, he looked at me like I was crazy… okay, I AM a little crazy but that’s besides the point!  Anyway it was totally easy to make and super fun at the same time.

We just took a vanilla (or white cake mix) and made it as usual (water, oil, and egg whites) and mixed it up and divided it into six different bowls.  In each bowl we added various drops of food coloring to make a rainbow of colors…blue, yellow, red, green, purple, and orange.  Then we dropped each color mix randomly into a greased 9X13 pan and kind of shook it around so it looked like this:

cake mix

Then we let it bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for around 30 minutes (burnt myself on the oven of course) and it came out like this:

baked cake

 

Let it cool 10-20 minutes then we added chocolate frosting and rainbow sprinkles and viola! YUMMY TIE-DYE CAKE!!!! Now if you want to be really awesome you could make multiple cakes, layer them with frosting in between each layer, and frost the top as well.

Here’s my husband’s slice of cake…couldn’t grab a pic before he took a bite!

Leave a Reply

