Penny Pincher: DIY (Edible) Sugar Lip Scrub

10 Mar

Image

So the cold weather has NOT been very nice to me and I have had chapped, peeling lips for the past couple days (super annoying!)…I looked in stores for a decent lip scrub and came up empty handed. I looked online and found a few but wasn’t too sure about the ingredients.  Then I remembered a recipe for a sugar lip scrub that I had made in high school…not only does it work wonders but it’s made from natural ingredients that most people already have in their kitchen! Best of all, the cost is almost nothing compared to buying the pre made stuff..AND..IT”S EDIBLE!!! So, here’s what I used:

Image

  • 1/2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp. honey
  • 1/2 tbsp. brown sugar (you can use regular sugar if you like)
  • dash of cinnamon

Image

Mix the ingredients together in a small container and then apply to lips with index finger.  Rub for a couple minutes and then wipe off with a wet washcloth and you’re done! I admit I licked a little of the mixture off my lips first…yummy!  I applied chap-stick afterwards.  The scrub will leave your lips nice and smooth!  I saved the rest to use for a repeat application (which is about twice a week until lips are back to normal.)

Definitely glad I remembered this concoction before I spent money somewhere else.  Hope you like it!

4 Responses to “Penny Pincher: DIY (Edible) Sugar Lip Scrub”

  1. sincerelywhitney March 11, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    cant wait to do this tomorrow! im in dire need of some lip TLC. this past weeks wind totally got my lips! thanks for sharing. xoxo
    http://www.sincerelywhitney.com

    • prettypolishedgirl March 11, 2013 at 3:08 am #

      No problem! I do about two applications and that always does the trick…although it tastes so good I want to do it more often! Hope it helps 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. organic living // grapefruit lime lip scrub DIY | sincerely, Whitney - April 8, 2013

    […] the chapping and cracking. lipstick application is no fun with a rifted, peeling base. inspired by pretty polished girl, i have made my own lip therapy because it was time to take action and save my […]

  2. DIY: Lip Scrub | ♡ ♡ Pretty Little Primroses ♡ ♡ - April 9, 2013

    […] Penny Pincher: DIY (Edible) Sugar Lip Scrub (prettypolishedgirl.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

